Apostolou Pavlou Ave 62, 8046, Pafos, Cyprus
+357 99453119     +357 96753623
by Foutina
Home / About Cyprus / Religious Cyprus

Religious Cyprus

RELIGION
The majority of the population of Cyprus ethnic Greeks profess Orthodox Christianity, ethnic Turks Islam.

The Cypriot Orthodox Church has the status of a quasi-state institution and plays a prominent role in the social and political life of the country; Primate of the Church of Cyprus Archbishop of New Justiniana and all of Cyprus. In addition to the temples (more than 500), which are present in almost every village, the church has 11 monasteries in Cyprus, which own the significant and most fertile lands of the island, which have year-round artificial irrigation, and other large properties.

The Armenian, Catholic, Maronite churches, as well as Judaism and other religions are represented.

The 1960 Constitution (Article 19) decides that everyone has the right to freedom of speech, conscience and religion. All religions are equal before the law and no legislative, executive or administrative act of the Republic can discriminate against any religious institution or religious organization. Everyone has the right to freedom of religion, he can study his religion individually or collectively. The only existing restrictions on such freedom are defined in the Constitution of the Republic and control the security of the Republic and its citizens. All these decrees indicate that there is no official recognized religion on the island. They also guarantee the protection of the rights of the three religious groups, which constitute a smaller part of the population (Catholics, Armenians and Maronites).

LITURGY IN PAPHOSE IN RUSSIAN LANGUAGE
In Cyprus, in particular, in Paphos, a considerable number of Russian-speaking Orthodox Christians live. Of course, all of them are deeply respectful of the Orthodox traditions of Cyprus, many are fluent in Greek and attend local churches. But there are those who would gladly attend services in Russian. In this regard, Russian-speaking Christians appealed to the Metropolitan of Paphos – George, with a request to allow the holding of church services in Russian.
The Metropolitan blessed the Russian-speaking Christians, and on July 4 in the church of St. George, located in the suburb of Paphos – Khlopak, at the hotel of St. George, the Divine Liturgy took place. This important event marked the beginning of a wonderful tradition: now the church service in Russian will be held in the church of St. George every month, every first Sunday, as a rule, at 9 am.
All Russian-speaking Christians and the “Russian Society” of Paphos expressed their sincere thanks to Metropolitan George for the opportunity to conduct church services in Russian.

POPULATION
After separation, the overwhelming majority of Greek Cypriots live in the south, and the Turks live in the north. The total population is about 850 thousand people, of which 160 thousand are Turks. Also, 60 thousand Englishmen live on the island (the share of which until recently in real estate transactions in Cyprus was 65%), 35 thousand Russians, 4 thousand Armenians. After the 1974 war, about 180,000 Greek Cypriots fled or were forcibly relocated south. About 42 thousand Turks moved to the north. And only in the village of Pyla, Larnaca District, with the UN-appointed administration, both groups live.



SEARCH

Sale or rent:

Item type:

Region:

Bedrooms:

Cost:

from to euro

ID:

Sort by:

Subscribe to new estate!

You will learn about the receipt of new objects first and be able to buy them at the best price.

Estate sriteria:

Contact person:

Email is required!

Thank you for subscribe!

Apostolou Pavlou Ave 62, 8046, Pafos, Cyprus
+357 99453119     +357 96753623
by Foutina
Home / О Кипре / Православие: Кипр и Россия

Православие: Кипр и Россия

РЕЛИГИЯ

Большинство населения Кипра   этнические греки исповедует православное христианство, этнические турки ислам.

Кипрская православная церковь имеет статус квази-государственного учреждения и играет заметную роль в общественно-политической жизни страны; предстоятель Кипрской Церкви   Архиепископ Новой Юстинианы и всего Кипра. Помимо храмов (более 500), имеющихся почти в каждой деревне, церковь обладает на Кипре 11 монастырями, которым принадлежат значительные и наиболее плодородные земли острова, имеющие круглогодичное искусственное орошение, и другая крупная собственность.

Представлены армянская, католическая, маронитская церкви, а также иудаизм, и другие вероисповедания.

Конституция 1960 года (Статья 19) постановляет, что каждый человек имеет право свободы слова, совести и религии. Все религии являются равными перед законом и ни один законодательный, исполнительный или административный акт Республики не может дискриминировать какой-либо религиозный институт или религиозную организацию. Каждый человек имеет право на свободу вероисповедания, он может изучать свою религию индивидуально или коллективно. Единственные действующие ограничения такой свободы определены в конституции Республики и контролируют безопасность Республики и её граждан. Все эти постановления указывают на то, что на острове нет религии, признанной официальной. Они также гарантируют защиту прав трех религиозных групп, которые составляют меньшую часть населения (католики, армяне и марониты).

ЛИТУРГИЯ В ПАФОСЕ НА РУССКОМ ЯЗЫКЕ

На Кипре, в частности, в Пафосе, проживает немалое количество русскоязычных православных христиан. Безусловно, все они с глубоким уважением относятся к православным традициям Кипра, многие прекрасно владеют греческим языком и посещают местные церкви. Но есть и те, кто с удовольствием посещал бы службы на русском языке. В связи с этим русскоговорящие христиане обратились к митрополиту Пафоса —  Георгию, с просьбой разрешить проведение церковных служб на русском.
Митрополит  благословил русскоговорящих христиан, и 4 июля в церкви Св. Георгия, расположенной в пригороде Пафоса — Хлопака, при отеле St. George, состоялась Божественная литургия. Это немаловажное  событие положило начало прекрасной традиции: теперь церковная служба на русском языке будет проходить в церкви Св. Георгия ежемесячно, каждое первое воскресенье, как правило, в 9 часов утра.
Все русскоязычные христиане и «Русское общество» Пафоса выразили горячую благодарность митрополиту Георгию за возможность проводить церковные службы на русском языке.

НАСЕЛЕНИЕ

После разделения подавляющее большинство греков-киприотов живёт на юге, а турки — на севере. Общее население составляет около 850 тыс. человек, из которых 160 тысяч турки. Также на острове проживает 60 тысяч англичан (доля которых до недавнего времени в сделках с недвижимостью на Кипре составляла 65%), 35 тысяч русских, 4 тысячи армян. После войны 1974 года около 180 тысяч греко-киприотов бежали или были насильно переселены на юг. Около 42 тысяч турок переехали на север. И только в деревне Пила округа Ларнака при назначенной ООН администрации проживают обе группы населения.



Поисковая форма

Продажа или аренда:

Тип объекта:

Район объекта:

Количество спален:

Цена объекта:

от до евро

ID (артикул):

Сортировка по:

Подпишитесь на новые объекты!

Вы узнаете о поступлении новых объектов первым и сможете купить их по самой выгодной цене!

Критерии поиска объектов:

Контактные данные:

Необходимо заполнить адрес электронной почты!

СПАСИБО ЗА ПОДПИСКУ!